World Cup Roldanillo - Task 5

Back to "World Cup Roldanillo, Colombia 2022"
Summary written by Ruth Jessop
Today’s conditions were the best so far. A 118 km task was set taking the pilots north to Viterbo.
It was an amazing day. Easy good conditions in the mountains. Then pilots got low out in the flats due to some high cloud cooling the valley, which slowed things down a bit initially.
There were lots of different options at the beginning which spread the pilots out.
They headed north up the middle of the valley in a straight line to La Victoria where it started to work very well. 
At Toro they headed into the hills. They were still flying fast, but now was the time to slow down and make every thermal count. The key today was knowing when to change gear at the end. Those behind could see what was happening and were in much more of a controlling position to gain sufficient height and make goal, overtaking those who had so valiantly led out for the whole competition. 
In the words of Ernesto Hinestroza, ‘exceptionally good task setting today, which made the most of an excellent day. Well done to the task setting committee who have done such a great job in this competition.’ 
Just a reminder that the task committee in this competition are Ernesto Hinestroza, Yassen Savov and Pepe Malecki. However, perhaps not all of the task committee will agree with Ernesto’s assessment of the success of today’s task, some may have wished that the task had been 10km shorter!
The first 91 pilots made goal, and thus all flew the same distance, and gained the same distance points. Today’s winner is therefore the one with a combination of the best speed points and lead out points. 
Top 3 speed point winners – the fastest pilots round the course
22:06:46: Honorin HAMARD flying at an average speed of 36.3 km/h
22:07:13: Gleb SUKHOTSKIY
22:07:18: Yann LIVINEC

Top 3 leading point baggers – those who were in the lead the most
159.8: Erwan DIDRICHE
154.1: Gleb SUKHOTSKIY
152.2: Meryl DELFERRIERE

Top 3 in the task

Best newcomer: Yann LIVINEC (5)

Top 3 ladies
3: Marcella UCHOA

Top 3 teams
1: Ozone
2: Parastick
3: Kortel Design 
Paragliding World Cup Association 2024
All rights reserved - Power by Aracnia
Follow Us!